The homemade D.I.Y blackhead remover

There are so many products on the market and like anything it’s about testing, what if you could save yourself money by making something from things in your kitchen cupboard? well I’m certainly up for experimenting. Upon researching online it seemed that the most popular ingredients were honey, lemon juice and baking soda. I squeezed half a lemon and added 2 teaspoons of baking soda followed by a teaspoon of honey. You have to mix it quite well otherwise the honey won’t dissolve. Peering into the glass it looks like a creamy coloured thin paste. It certainly doesn’t look like something I would like to eat or put on my face either! What do I do now? A few people had suggested using it as a facial scrub and others suggested leaving the paste on as a mask from anywhere between 20 and 30 minutes. I seem more drawn to the mask, I like the idea of it working ‘wonders’ whilst I am doing nothing! Applying with my fingers it feels like honey although I can feel the lemon juice still watery. Trying to cover the area of my face I can now feel the baking soda which feels like thousands of small beads. I didn’t even realise it would be like that! Looking at my face and seeing my partner laughing his head off behind me, it certainly doesn’t look like a mask and it looks like it’s just clinging onto my skin. It’s true what they say it tingles and feels a little strange. Despite my boyfriend thinking I was totally bonkers i decided to leave it on for the full 30 mins. Like any other scrub when i was washing it off I could feel it exfoliating my skin. With a fresh face I starred into the mirror almost expecting miracles. Instead what I saw was redness on my nose and cheeks and what looked like red spots and my face still tingled. It took half an hour before the sensitivity calmed down and the only thing I thought about putting on it was pure almond oil to soothe. For the rest of the day I couldn’t wear any makeup as I had red blotches everywhere! It didn’t look like my blackheads had reduced massively, but they did look a little different. By the next day my skin started to calm down and the blackheads did look a little difference. But considering the tingling sensation I was rather disappointed. I have very sensitive skin so it was definatley a lesson learnt leaving it on that long. If your going to try it yourself I would suggest using it as a scrub and not a mask and be very careful if you have sensitive skin as lemon juice is acidic!  Share your opinion if you tried this.. 

Leave a Reply

