Benefits of Drinking Tea


There’s not that many people I know that doesn’t enjoy a good cup of Tea and honestly who wouldn’t? As it’s National Tea day today I did some research on the benefits of drinking Tea and was quite surprised at some of the things mentioned, hence the reason I am writing this post. 

10 Facts about Tea

Did you know? 

1. Tea is a natural source of fluoride that can help protect against tooth decay and gum disease.

2. 98% of people take their tea with milk, but only 30% take sugar in tea.

3. You should use fresh water to make tea. Water that’s already been boiled, has lost oxygen which can make your tea taste flat. 

4. Black Tea reduces eye puffiness. Put 2 tea bags in boiling water for 5 mins then take out and squeeze out the liquid then and allow to cool, lastly place the bags on your eyes for 10 minutes. 

5. Slurping aerated the Tea increasing flavours allowing for greater contact with your tastebuds! One Tea in particular called Pu-erh Tea is meant to be slurped. I’m really not sure I could, the noise just goes through me. I always thought slurping was seen as rude. Did anyone else think that? 

6. Most of us are aware of how healthy green teas are as they aid many of our diets. However did you know that’s black tea also contain high levels of antioxidants. In particular black tea contains polyphenols, which can help our bodies fight cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes and other illnesses.

7. It’s not as bad for you as coffee. It contains half the amount of caffeine but lots of antioxidants therefore you want experience the highs and lows like you would with coffee. 

8. It takes 2,000 tiny leaves to create just one pound of finished tea. 

9. Timing is everything- Brewing time should be 3-5 minutes

10. The most expensive teabag in the world is a handcrafted diamond teabag made by Boodles jewelers worth $15,250, which contains 280 diamonds and is being used to raise money for a childrenโ€™s charity in Manchester, England.


More Tea Facts can be found using the links below under Sources Used. 

Sources used:

http://www.tea.co.uk

http://www.teaanswers.com

http://www.spinfold.com

I really hope everyone enjoyed this post and is drinking lots of tea today, I know I will be and let’s not forget dunking those biscuits! 

xoxo

5 thoughts on “Benefits of Drinking Tea

  1. ivefoundwaldo says:

    You have so many neat facts about tea! Like we spoke on instagram, I’ve never had tea with milk in it, so I deff need to try it. I don’t know how i’d feel about slurping anything, it’s interesting that it’s supposed to increase the flavor. Like you said, I don’t think I’d be able to do it though, slurping is a habit I luckily don’t have xxx

    Melina | http://www.ivefoundwaldo.com

    Like

    • thisismyxoxo says:

      Thanks lovely ๐Ÿ˜Š some of the things I found out I was generally amazed and couldn’t keep them to myself!! I am dairy intolerant so I use Soya milk and add it to black tea and chai tea. Herbal and fruity teas I just have boiled water. Haha slurping I know, I was like isn’t that rude? Like you I still don’t think I could do that in public ๐Ÿ™ˆxxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

